Monday, July 16, 2018
Sullivan County Star of the Month Banner Ad
home » news » no changes in leadership for the county commissioners in 2018

No changes in leadership for the county commissioners in 2018

By Dennis Clark

It’s steady as she goes for the Sullivan County Commissioners for another year.
The commissioners quickly reappointed Bob Davis — Ray McCammon made the motion, second by John Waterman — as president and McCammon — Waterman with the motion, second by Davis — as vice president for 2018 at the outset of its meeting Tuesday morning.
McCammon discussed creating a Cumulative Capital Development Fund to assist the county financially with bridge construction.
He restated his idea of setting up a zero-dollar tax to restore lost cumulative bridge monies.
Commissioners’ attorney Ann Mischler had reviewed if this could be done, but all agreed more clarification from the state is needed.
The county has attempted to adopt this tax in 2013 and 2015, without success. As a result, according to McCammon, the county has lost about $130,000 in bridge repair funds the past two years.
The commissioners approved the addition of two additional stop signs — which have already been installed — at the intersection of CRs 700S and 600E based on an engineering study by Netherlain.
“Essentially this intersection is a ‘T’ however the only traffic required to stop is on the through leg approaching from the north,” Netherlain described the previous configuration.
Netherlain said the previous setup “confuses drivers” and there had been “some anecdotal evidence of near collisions, including one involving a highway worker.”
Following its third and final public hearing, the commissioners formally approved a request by American Land Holdings Inc. LLC and Midwest Coal Reserves of Indiana LLC to temporarily close a portion of CR 800S for about a 1/2-mile between CRs 600E and 700E.
In other business:
• The commissioners approved all material bids for the county’s highway department in 2018, per the recommendation of county engineer Jerry Netherlain.
Bids include petroleum products, stone, bituminous materials, repair parts, grader blades, tires and tubes, metal and plastic pipe and box culverts.
• Waterman asked the other commissioners to consider raising the pay scale for the highway department foremen.
“Would like to look at this in next year’s budget,” he said.
• The commissioners made several appointments for 2018:
Alcoholic and Beverage: Kevin Arnett; Health Department: Judy Weathers, Jana Pounds (replaces Sharon Pigg, resigned); Tourism: Donna Adams, Jim Conner and Twila Usrey; Veterans Affairs: Dale Richey; Emergency Management: McCammon; West Central Indiana Economic and Development District: Davis; SUCCEED: Davis; Community Corrections: Waterman; County Engineer: Netherlain; Highway Department foremen: Dave Fidler (District 1), Lonni Boyd (District 2), Tom Smith (District 3), Tony Bennett (Garage); Highway Superintendent and Bridge Foreman: Netherlain; Highway Clerk: Jane Doyle; Courthouse Maintenance: Brad Drury; and County Attorney: Mischler.
Aviation and PTA Board of Review: No appointments were made as letters had not been submitted. Paul Wilkey (Aviation) and Vicki Talpas (PTA) currently hold those spots.
• The commissioners reapproved they will meet the first and third Mondays at 7 p.m. However, its next meeting will be Jan. 16, due to the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday.

eEdition of AX_SITE_NAME
See and Buy our Photos