Sunday, June 16, 2019
Uebelhor Buick GMC Feb 2017 bw Print
home » news » three more candidates vying for town council, clerk-treasurer positions

Three more candidates vying for town council, clerk-treasurer positions


Three incumbents, two from Carlisle, one from Dugger, have filed for town elections so far in the month of March

In Carlisle, Suzan Ridgway filed for clerk-treasurer while current town council president Azalia Barfield filed for the District 3 seat. In Dugger, Sandra Stinson filed for re-election to their town council.

Barfield filed as a Democrat candidate, while Ridgway and Stinson filed as independents.

Earlier in the filing period, Bill Pirtle filed for re-election to the Dugger town council, while Jay Southwood filed for re-election as Shelburn clerk-treasurer. Both filed as independents.

They join Kaleb Westbrook (Merom town council) and June Shacklett (Merom clerk-treasurer) who had already filed for re-election earlier. Both are Republicans.

Candidates for clerk-treasurer and council seats in the towns of Farmersburg, Shelburn, Dugger, Hymera, Carlisle and Merom still have until Aug. 1 to declare their candidacy for nomination by a town convention in those towns which have a population of less than 3,500.

Those races, as are Sullivan municipal races, will be decided in the Nov. 5 general election.

Sullivan will not have a May primary election this year despite a dozen candidates filing to run. But there will be no primary as none of the seven races — mayor, clerk-treasurer and five council seats — would be contested.

Democrats filled all seven available primary slots: Clint Lamb (mayor); D. Sue Pitts (clerk-treasurer); John Ellington (city council District 1); Gene Bonham (city council District 2); Roger Smith (city council District 3); Scott Brown (city council District 4); and Tom McClanahan (city council At-Large).

All are incumbents except for Smith and McClanahan. 

Republicans, five in all, filed are Josh Smith (mayor); Carl Foster (city council District 1); Randy Denham (city council District 2); Johnnie Kristler (city council District 3); and Forrest Metcalf (city council District 4).

No GOP candidates filed for clerk-treasurer and city council At-Large, so that means at least five races will be contested in the November general election. 

Republicans, and if necessary, Democrats, have until noon June 30 to fill out the municipal election ballot due to a vacancy resulting from no candidate being nominated in the primary, then by noon July 3, must file a certificate of selection stating that a vacancy has been filled.


eEdition of AX_SITE_NAME
See and Buy our Photos